What a VPS provider wants to know about you.
exy.sh next to Contabo, Hetzner, Kamatera, Vultr and OVHcloud: which data you hand over, how you can pay and who tracks you on the website. Then the server facts.
Before you get a server.
What each provider asks for and records before your server runs.
| Criterion | exy.sh | Contabo | Hetzner | Kamatera | Vultr | OVHcloud |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Required to sign up | Email and username | Name, address, email, phone | Name, contact details, payment details | Name, address, email, phone | Name, address, email, phone | Name, address, email, phone |
| ID check | No | On some orders | In individual cases | Not stated | Reserved in the terms | In individual cases |
| Card or PayPal required | No | No | No | Credit card | Card or PayPal | Card, SEPA or PayPal on file |
| Crypto without card or PayPal | Yes | No | No | No | Only with card or PayPal linked | No |
| Analytics and ad tracking on the website | None | Google Tag Manager, Microsoft Clarity, OpenAI pixel, affiliate tracking | Matomo, only with consent | Google Analytics, Facebook Pixel | Google Analytics, Facebook, DoubleClick, AdRoll, Bing, Twitter | Google, Facebook, LinkedIn, Criteo, Reddit and others |
| Contracting company | 1337 Services GmbH, Hamburg, Germany | Contabo GmbH, Munich, Germany | Hetzner Online GmbH, Gunzenhausen, Germany | Kamatera Inc., Israeli law | The Constant Company, LLC, Florida, USA | OVH SAS, Roubaix, France |
What you get.
The server facts that differ between providers. Where everyone is equal, we left the row out.
| Criterion | exy.sh | Contabo | Hetzner | Kamatera | Vultr | OVHcloud |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Windows Server ready to install | Yes, 2025 and 2022 | Yes | No: own licence, manual install from ISO | Yes | Yes | Yes, from VPS-2 |
| DDoS protection included | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | No, $10 per month | Yes |
| Port speed | At least 1 Gbit/s on every plan | 200 Mbit/s to 1 Gbit/s | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 500 Mbit/s to 3 Gbit/s |
| In France, Poland, UK, Netherlands, Canada, US | All six | UK, US | US | NL, UK, CA, US | All six | FR, PL, UK, CA; US through OVH US |
| Billing | Monthly in advance, no minimum term | Monthly, minimum term one month | Hourly, capped at a monthly price | Hourly or monthly | Hourly | Monthly in advance |
And the price?
We left price out on purpose. Plans differ in processor type, disk and what is included, so a single line would mislead more than it helps. For the same cores and memory some providers here are cheaper, Contabo and OVHcloud in particular. Our prices are in the pricing table, for your country and with VAT shown.
See our pricesHow we compared
Every entry comes from the provider's own website, terms or privacy policy as of October 13, 2026, and we keep the source for each one. "Not stated" means we found no statement on their official pages. Terms and prices change. If something here is out of date, tell us and we correct it.
Ready before your coffee is.
Windows in about three minutes, Linux in under one. Over RDP or SSH, month by month.